I didn’t see that one coming

But maybe I should have.

After I said I was still hungry, I continued in a rather compulsive manner through Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games trilogy.

As I picked up Katniss, Peeta, Gale, and the rest of the crew, I rapidly sank deeply into the story. This particular book was a page-turner, for sure, if I actually had pages. I read it on my Kindle and I couldn’t punch the next page button fast enough. The character development in this middle section of the story is incredibly important down the line. I alternate between liking Katniss and not liking her, but that could be because she reminds me of me all too often, particularly when she is disparaging toward those trying to help her. She is always the last to know everything, so I really relate. The background on Haymitch is also welcome, since it allows me to understand him and his actions better. An uprising, a set of games, and a surprising twist at the end of the book left me nearly screaming – the ending was so abrupt that I literally gasped. If I had had to go to a bookstore to get the next book, I would have really screamed.

Hearts: 8/10. I took two off because I was left hanging so abruptly at the end.

Luckily for me, I had the foresight to download Mockingjay at the same time I downloaded Catching Fire.

 

It has been a very long time since I stayed up until 1 a.m. reading a book. I was up until 1 a.m. on a school night reading this book. As with Catching Fire, I could not get to the next page quickly enough. The story moved at the speed of light and often I had to back-peddle to make sure I had the sequence of events right. Betrayal, hijacking, mayhem, madness, and marriage – every aspect of humanity is explored and one is left with the sinking feeling that the human condition might never change. There will always be another tyrant. And, on the flip side, there will always be the human desire to live. Let me say that, in my sleep deprived state, I really see Katniss as the Mockingjay – the mutation between old and new. It is not easy journey but perhaps it is not about the journey – it may very well be about the destination.

Hearts: 9.5/10. I dropped half a star because action almost overshadows the real story here.

Leave a Reply

